Forensic Pathology Service
FAQ
what's New

FAQ

1. Under what circumstances will the body of my beloved be transferred to a Public Mortuary of the Forensic Pathology Service, Department of Health for death investigation?
   
2. The Police have made arrangement with me to attend a public mortuary for identification of body. Is there anything I need to pay attention to?
   
3. How is identification of body conducted?
   
4. I do not want an autopsy to be conducted on the body of my beloved, what can I do?
   
5. What documents do I need to make funeral arrangement. Do I need a "Death Certificate" for that purpose?
   
6. What are the procedures for claiming the body from the Public Mortuary?
   
7. How can I obtain a copy of the autopsy report?
   
8. What is the rate of charges for the services provided by the Public Mortuary?
   
9. Are there any organizations providing bereavement support service?
   
1.

Q:Under what circumstances will the body of my beloved be transferred to a Public Mortuary of the Forensic Pathology Service, Department of Health for death investigation ?

A: In general, the body of a person declared dead at the scene of discovery or certified dead in the Accident and Emergency Department of a hospital with uncertain or unnatural causes of death will be transferred to a Public Mortuary. In addition, the body of a person who died under suspicious circumstances or whilst in official custody will also be transferred to a Public Mortuary for investigation. All cases handled in public mortuaries are reportable to the Coroner.(Please see — Categories of Reportable DeathsPDF Format File)

Top

   
2.

Q: The Police have made arrangement with me to attend a public mortuary for identification of body. Is there anything I need to pay attention to ?

A: The Police will make prior arrangement with the next-of-kin of the Deceased to attend a Public Mortuary at a specified time and date for identification of body. Please bring along the identification document and any relevant medical records of the Deceased (e.g. discharge summary from hospitals, letters from attending doctors, etc.) when attending the public mortuary.(Please see — List of address and telephone number of Public Mortuaries)

Top

   
3.

Q: How is identification of body conducted ?

A: Under normal circumstances, identification of body will be conducted in the morning on Monday to Friday (except public holidays). Please attend the Public Mortuary at the date and time as arranged with the Police and register at the reception counter of the Public Mortuary with the police officer in charge of the case.


During registration, you will be requested by the mortuary staff to complete a "Particulars of the Deceased"PDF Format File form to provide the personal particulars of the Deceased for registration purpose. You will also be asked whether the body is to be buried or cremated. If you wish the body of the Deceased to be disposed of by the Government, please inform the mortuary staff.


After registration, please wait to be called for an interview with the Forensic Pathologist. During the interview, the Forensic Pathologist will go through with you the medical history and the circumstances surrounding the death of the Deceased. After the interview, you will be required to formally identify the body. A "Certificate of Collection of Document for Body Disposal" for later collection of a document for body disposal and a "Certificate of Body Collection" for claiming back of the body of the Deceased will be given to you. Please ensure safe custody of these certificates. (Please see – Sample of "Certificate of Collection of Document for Body Disposal"IMAGE Format File / Sample of "Certificate of Body Collection"IMAGE Format File)

Top

   
4.

Q: I do not want an autopsy to be conducted on the body of my beloved, what can I do ?

A: The decision of whether an autopsy is to be done or not is with the Coroner. If you wish to apply for waiver of the autopsy, you must inform the Forensic Pathologist during the interview.


In general, the Coroner would not waive the autopsy if the medical cause of death or the circumstances surrounding the death are not clear. For deaths that appeared to be due to natural causes, please provide adequate medical documentation to assist the Forensic Pathologist in giving an opinion on the medical cause of death of the Deceased for the Coroner’s consideration.

Top

 
5.

Q: What documents do I need to make funeral arrangement. Do I need a "Death Certificate" for that purpose ?

A: Proper disposal of body requires a "Certificate of Order Authorizing Burial/Cremation of Body" issued by the Coroner.(Please see — Sample of "Certificate of Order Authorizing Burial of Body"IMAGE Format File / Sample of "Certificate of Order Authorizing Cremation of Body"IMAGE Format File)


Upon delivery from the Coroner’s Court, this Certificate is normally available for collection at the reception counter of the Public Mortuary in the afternoon of the following working day after 3 p.m. You must come in person or authorize another person in writing to collect the Certificate upon presentation of the original "Certificate of Collection of Document for Body Disposal" issued to you during the formal identification process.(Please see —Sample of "Certificate of Collection of Document for Body Disposal"IMAGE Format File)


The so-called "Death Certificate" refers to a "Certified Copy of an Entry in a Register of Deaths" which is issued by the Births and Deaths General Register Office of the Immigration Department. This document is not required for arranging burial/cremation of the body.


For deaths reported to the Coroner, the "Certified Copy of an Entry in a Register of Deaths" will only be available after the Coroner has concluded his inquiry of the death. For all matters relating to the issue of this document, please enquire directly at the Births and Deaths General Register Office at 3/F, Low Block, Queensway Government Offices. (Tel : 2867 2784).

Top

 
6.

Q: What are the procedures for claiming the body from the Public Mortuary ?

A: The time for collection of bodies is between 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily (including Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays). You may make you own arrangement to claim the body during the aforementioned periods. In general, for cases not requiring autopsy, the body is ready for collection at the same time of collecting the Burial/Cremation Order. For cases requiring autopsy, the body is normally ready for collection in the afternoon of the following working day.


When claiming the body, the registered claimant is required to come to the Public Mortuary in person to return the original "Certificate of Body Collection" issued to him during the formal identification process and to sign for collection of the body of the Deceased. (Please see —Sample of "Certificate of Body Collection"IMAGE Format File)

Top

 
7.

Q: How can I obtain a copy of the autopsy report ?

A: As stipulated in the Coroners Ordinance, autopsy reports prepared by Forensic Pathologists are to be submitted to the Coroner directly. If you wish to obtain a copy of the autopsy report, please apply directly to the Coroner. (Address:9/F, Tower A, West Kowloon Law Courts Building, 501 Tung Chau Street, Sham Shui Po, Kowloon. Tel : 3916 6204)

Top

 
8.

Q: What is the rate of charges for the services provided by the Public Mortuary

A: All services provided by the Public Mortuary are free-of-charge. Please note that all mortuary staff are Government employees and are prohibited from receiving any benefits in the form of money (including ‘lai-see’) or gifts. They are not allowed to advise on your selection of commercial funeral services. Any person offering benefits to the mortuary staff is liable to prosecution. Should you discover or notice any contravention of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance, or encounter claim that money or gifts are required / can be offered in exchange for special treatment, favour or convenience in the Public Mortuary, please report directly to the Independent Commission Against Corruption. (Tel: 2526 6366)

Top

 
9.

Q: Are there any organizations providing bereavement support service ?

A: The following non-governmental organizations provide bereavement support service to help family cope with issues of loss and grief :-

Society for the Promotion of Hospice Care

Tel: 2331 7000

Website: http://www.hospicecare.org.hk

Address: No. 18, A Kung Kok Shan Road,
Shatin, N.T., Hong Kong
(Jockey Club Home for Hospice)

Bereavement Support Tel: 2725 7693
The Comfort Care Concern Group

Tel: 2361 6606

Website: http://cccg.org.hk

Address: 303-305, Podium Floor,
Lai Ho House, Lai Kok Est,
Cheung Sha Wan, Kowloon
TWGHs Chun Tei Kok Buddhist
Association Limited Centre of Life
Enlightening- “Be-With Service”
(Funeral and Bereavement Support)


Tel: 2884 2033

Website: http://ecs.tungwahcsd.org/
index.php/Tc/Service/gowithme.html

Top

   
2009 copyright logo | Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: 20 Jul 2018
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

法医科
常见问题
相关网站

常见问题

1. 我的亲人于较早前不幸过世,在甚么情况下遗体会被送往卫生署法医科管辖的公众殓房作死因调查?
   
2. 警方安排我前住公众殓房办理辨认遗体,有甚么事项我须要注意?
   
3. 辨认遗体的手续及过程如何?
   
4. 我不希望遗体进行解剖,应如何申请?
   
5. 安排殮葬需要什么文件? 其中包括「死亡证」吗?
   
6. 领回遗体的手续如何?
   
7. 如何索取尸体剖验报告的副本?
   
8. 公众殓房提供的服务收费如何?
   
9. 是否有机构提供丧亲辅导服务?
   
   
1.

问:我的亲人于较早前不幸过世,在甚么情况下遗体会被送往卫生署法医科管辖的公众殓房作死因调查?

答: 一般而言,遗体若于发现现场或于送抵急症室时证实死亡而死亡原因不明或属非自然个案,遗体均会被移送至公众殓房。此外,如死亡个案有可疑或死者是在羁留期间死亡,遗体也会送往公众殓房处理。所有在公众殓房处理之死亡个案均须向死因裁判官作出呈报。 (参见附录 — 须予报告的死亡个案PDF格式文件)

回页首

   
2.

问:警方安排我前住公众殓房办理辨认遗体,有甚么事项我须要注意?

答: 警方会联络死者的亲属安排日期及时间到其中一间公众殓房办理辨认遗体手续。介时,请带同死者的身分证明文件及所有相关的医疗文件(如医院的出院摘要、主诊医生的信件等)前住公众殓房以便办理辨认遗体手续。 (参见 — 各公众殓房的地址及电话号码)

回页首

   
3.

问:辨认遗体的手续及过程如何?

答: 一般情况下,办理辨认遗体的手续会于星期一至五(公众假期除外)上午进行,请依照警方安排的日期及时间到达公众殓房,并联同负责死者个案的警务人员到接待柜台办理登记手续。


稍后,接待柜台的殓房职员会要求你填写表格,以提供「死者资料PDF格式文件」表格作登记用途,并询问你会将遗体「土葬」或「火化」。如欲将死者遗体交由政府代为收殓,请通知殓房职员。


登记后,请于公众大堂等候与法医科医生会見。会見期间,法医科医生会向你询问死者的病歷和臨终情况。在会见法医科医生后,你需要正式辨认遗体以确认死者身份,并会获发一份「领取殓葬文件证明书」及一份「领回遗体证明书」,以供日后领取殓葬所需文件及领回遗体之用。该等证明书务须妥为保存。 (参见 — 「领取殓葬文件证明书」样本IMAGE Format File/ 「领回遗体证明书」样本IMAGE Format File)

回页首

   
4.

问:我不希望遗体进行解剖,应如何申请?

答: 遗体是否须要进行解剖,裁决权在于死因裁判官。如欲向死因裁判官申请豁免尸体剖验,你必须在会見时通知法医科医生。


一般來說,如医学上的死因或死亡情况并不明确,死因裁判官不会豁免尸体剖验。如个案显示属自然死亡,请提供足够的医学文件,以协助法医科医生就死者医学上的死因作出意見供死因裁判官考虑。

回页首

 
5.

问:安排殮葬需要什么文件? 其中包括「死亡证」吗?

答: 办理遗体殮葬需要一份由死因裁判官签发的「批准尸体埋葬/火葬证明书」(俗称 「葬纸」)。(参见 — 「批准尸体埋葬证明书」样本IMAGE Format File/ 「批准尸体火葬证明书」样本IMAGE Format File)


该文件经从死因裁判法庭带回公众殮房后,通常可于下一工作日的下午3时后在公众殮房的接待柜台領取。你或获你书面授权之人士须带同在辨认遗体时获发的「領取殮葬文件证明书」正本前往領取。(参见 —「领取殓葬文件证明书」样本IMAGE Format File


俗称「死亡证」的「根据生死登记条例规定而备存的死亡登记纪錄内一项记项的核证副本」是由入境事务处辖下的生死登记总处负责签发的。「死亡证」并不需要用于办理遗体殮葬事宜上。


对于已向死因裁判官呈报之死亡个案,「死亡证」须经死因裁判法庭裁决死因后方获签发。所有与签发该文件有关之事宜,请直接向生死登记总处查询 (地址:香港金钟道政府合署低座3楼;电话:2867 2784)

回页首

 
6.

问:领回遗体的手续如何?

答: 办理领回遗体的办公时间为每日(包括星期六、日及公众假期)上午8时至下午5时。亲属可自行安排于上述时段内领回遗体。一般來說,获死因裁判官豁免剖验的遗体最早可以在领取「批准尸体埋葬/火葬证明书」时一同领回。需要进行尸体剖验的遗体将于下一个工作天的下午方可领回。


领回遗体时,已登记的死者亲属必须带同在辨认遗体时获发的「领回遗体证明书」正本亲身到公众殓房办理手续,并于领回遗体后在该文件上签署作实。 (参见 —「领回遗体证明书」样本IMAGE Format File)

回页首

 
7.

问:如何索取尸体剖验报告的副本?

答: 按《死因裁判官条例》规定,法医科医生拟备的「尸体剖验报告」须直接提交死因裁判官。如欲索取尸体剖验报告的副本,请直接向死因裁判官申请。(地址:九龙深水埗通州街501号西九龙法院大楼A座9楼;电话:3916 6204)。

回页首

 
8.

问:公众殓房提供的服务收费如何?

答: 公众殮房提供的服务全属免费。 请注意,公众殮房职员均为政府雇员,不得接受任何金钱(包括「利是」)或禮物的馈赠,亦不得就你对商营殡仪服务的选择提供意見。任何人士如向殮房职员提供利益,可遭检控。如发现或察觉任何触犯《防止贿賂条例》的行为或有任何人士声称需要阁下付出或可以安排阁下提供金钱或禮物以换取公众殮房的特别安排、优待或方便,请直接向廉政公署举报 (电话 : 2526 6366)

回页首

 
9.

问:是否有机构提供丧亲辅导服务?

答: 请与各以下志愿机构联络:

善宁会

电话: 2331 7000

网址: http://www.hospicecare.org.hk

地址: 香港沙田亚公角山路18号
(赛马会善宁之家)
丧亲者辅导服务查询电话:2725 7693
赆明会

电话: 2361 6606

网址: http://cccg.org.hk

地址: 香港九龙长沙湾丽阁村
丽荷楼三楼平台303-305号
东华三院准提阁佛学会生命同行
坊「伴我同行」服务 (殡仪陪伴
及情绪支持服务)


电话: 2884 2033

网址: http://ecs.tungwahcsd.org/
index.php/Tc/Service/gowithme.html

回页首

   
2009 版权 | 重要告示| 私隐政策 修订日期 : 二零一八年七月二十日
遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0